When Google announced it was closing its “Reader” app, a large swath of the active web users were left sulking.  The rest of you were left wondering what is wrong with these people, see the bottom of this post for why I love Reader.

If not “Google Reader”, what should I use.  Google reader was never perfect, but its openness meant there were a lot of apps that you could plug-in to make it work perfectly.  In that vain I’m using Feedly as my new replacement, it imports my Google reader information its fast and it has lots of plug-in and sharing options.  For a great list of options checkout LifeHacker’s post of Google Reader alternatives and how-to transition.

Who to follow:  The death of a Google Reader is a great occasion to revisit your reader feed.  If you check this site or are already subscribing to this site, you care about Los Angeles education.  Here is my list of Los Angeles education news sites and opinions that I follow, leave ideas in the comments:

4LA Kids            http://4lakidsnews.blogspot.com

Daily News            http://www.dailynews.com/education

Eagle Rock Patch Schools            http://eaglerock.patch.com/school-news

FRIENDS OF THE ARTS IN LAUSD            http://lausdartsed.blogspot.com/

Go Mama Guide            http://gomamaguide.com/

Highland Park Mount Washington Patch            http://highlandpark-ca.patch.com/school-news

Hollywood Patch            http://hollywood.patch.com/school-news

Hope Change Choices            http://HopeChangeChoices.org

KPCC Education            http://www.scpr.org/education/

LA School Report            http://laschoolreport.com/

LA Times            http://www.latimes.com/news/local/education/

LAUSD Magnet Angel            http://lausdmagnetangel.com

LAUSD Supporting All Employees            http://lausdcpm.blogspot.com/

Magnet Yenta            http://askamagnetyenta.wordpress.com/

Northridge Patch            http://northridge.patch.com/school-news

PerDaily            http://www.perdaily.com/

School Matters            http://www.schoolsmatter.info/

South Gate Patch Schools            http://southgate.patch.com/school-news

Studio City Patch            http://studiocity.patch.com/school-news

Title 1, Private Schools Program            http://title1psp.edublogs.org/

UCLA IDEA            http://www.idea.gseis.ucla.edu/

Venice Patch Schools            http://venice.patch.com/school-news

Woodland Hills Patch            http://woodlandhills.patch.com/school-news

 

LA School Report put together a nice list of Twitter personalities to follow, its a great place to find more blogs to follow.  And yes you can even use a reader to follow people on twitter.

 

Why you should love reader:  A “reader” is program that pulls posts from your favorite sources and puts them in one easy to find location.  A reader removes most advertisements and makes it easy to share a post on a variety of networks.  If you currently view the web by surfing to different sites, you are spending a lot of time keeping track of what you’ve read, seeing a bunch of bloated content that slows down your browsing, and trying to share an article usually means hitting three or four “like” buttons before you end up on the right sharing option.  A reader solves all these problems.

Featured image courtesy of: http://todaymade.com/blog/google-reader-alternatives-for-bloggers/